Tags

I never thought I would say this, but I am a runner!

After my second son, Cruz, was born in March 2012, I was looking for a new form of exercise to get back into shape (okay, well at least back to how I looked before). We were receiving the Running Room Magazine that was addressed to the previous owners of our house, and I really enjoyed reading all the inspiring stories of people who had started running and how it had changed their lives. In May, I joined a Womens’ Only Learn to Run clinic.

Seriously, during my first “run”, I thought I was going to pass out from exhaustion! It was only 7 reps of 1 minute of running and 2 minutes of walking, but yet it was HARD.

I never liked running when I was growing up. I always preferred soccer or aerobics, most specifically TAE BO (“Double-time!”) :). Even though my parents started running when I was a teenager, I still had no interest in it. However, I realized that everyone I knew who got past the first hurdle absolutely fell in love with it.

I wouldn’t say now that I completely love it, as each run is still a struggle. It’s more like a very strong like at the moment. I completed my first 5K, Erica’s Wish, on August 12th:

Since then, it’s been a real battle even lacing up my shoes and getting out there. Once I’m able to escape (or bring hubby and kids in the jogging stroller), it’s another battle getting myself to complete the whole 5k. I had stopped running for over a week when Jonathan had his mystery virus symptoms, and since then I haven’t been able to get my groove back.

I saw a picture that totally speaks to me:

It’s all a mind game and I just need to keep pushing myself forward when I feel like I can’t keep going.

I’ve registered for three races so far this fall: CIBC Run for the Cure on September 30th, the Oktoberfest Fun Run on October 8th and the Toronto Lakefront Marathon (5K) on October 14th. I knew that if I committed myself to these races, I would have to keep trying to better my endurance and speed.

I have to say that I could never have done this without my extremely supportive husband. He’s never been a dedicated runner and just ran while playing soccer. He decided to start running when I did and completed Erica’s Wish with an amazing time! When we all go out together, he pushes the kids in the double jogger so I don’t have to.  I’m so proud of him as he has totally left me in the dust, moving onto running 10k!

